• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

Stages of Mitosis – Cell Division

Biology | 7-14 yrs | Reading Pod, Interactive

What is Mitosis?

Mitosis is a form of cell division, which produces two daughter cells. Each of these two cells possesses equal number and similar kind of chromosomes as the parent nucleus, typical of ordinary tissue growth. In case of actively dividing animal cell, the entire process takes one hour to complete.

What are the 6 Stages of Mitosis?

1. Prophase:

In this stage the nuclear membrane breaks down resulting into formation of several small vesicles and the nucleolus disintegrates. Centrosome (a structure) duplicates itself. Two daughter centrosomes are formed, which migrate to opposite ends of the cell. The centrosomes help to produce microtubules. Microtubules form spindle fibres, the constituent of mitotic spindle. Chromosomes condense and give rise to compact structures. Each of the replicated chromosome are found to be consisting of two similar chromatids or sister chromatids. These are held together by centromere.

2. Prometaphase:

The chromosomes move to the equatorial plane in the mid line of the cell, at right angles to the axis. This region of the mitotic spindle is called the metaphase plate. It is formed by the centrosomes.The spindle fibres bind to kinetochore (a structure associated with the centromere). In prometaphase chromosomes continue to condense.

3. Metaphase:

In this phase chromosomes are found to align themselves along the metaphase plate of the spindle apparatus.

4. Anaphase:

In Anaphase, the centromeres divide. The sisters chromatids of chromosomes are detached. They are pulled by spindle fibres attached to the kinetochore regions and move to the opposite ends of the cell. These chromatids are known as daughter chromosomes.

5. Telophase:

In this final stage, nuclear membrane is formed once again around the chromosomes, which are grouped at either pole of the cell. Chromosomes uncoil and become diffuse. Spindle fibres are no longer visible.

6. Cytokinesis:

It is the process of final cellular division. Here, two new cells are formed. Then the cell enters the interphase.

Read more about the different Stages of Meiosis – Cell Division.