• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

6 Animals in the North Pole

General Knowledge | 7-14 yrs | Interactive, Reading Pod

List of Animals that live in the Arctic

1. Killer Whale

  • Killer whales are members of the dolphin family and are the largest of all the dolphin species.
  • They are also one of the most ferocious hunters of all aquatic mammals.It is for this reason they are often referred to as the wolves of the sea. An adult killer whale may measure up to 26 ft and weigh over 6,000 pounds! Killer whales are known to perform strategic and well-planned hunting adventures in a team.
  • These dolphins are not limited to just eating fish, they also relish other marine animals such as seals, sea lions, walruses, penguins and even other whales.
  • The animal residents of the North Pole have to face the vagaries of nature.
  • Though they have developed a number of adaptations to endure the atrocities of nature, every day of their life presents the most difficult challenge in the world before them—the challenge of survival.

2. Beluga Whale

  • Also known as the white whale or sea canary, the beluga whale is a relatively small whale that grows up to 15 feet in length. Its diet comprises of an assortment of squid, fish, octopus and worms. An adult beluga whale has a plump body and is white in colour.
  • These mammals usually live together in groups called pods, hunt together and migrate together.
  • An ideal example of unity; something to learn about!

3. Northern Fur Seal

  • The Northern fur seal got its name from its thick, two-layered, dark greyish-brown fur, which insulates it against the cold climate of the North Pole.
  • When on land, fur seals live in large colonies, but form smaller groups when in the water. They are known to consume squids, octopus and fish.

4. Walrus

  • Walruses are the water-loving residents of North Pole and they like to spend most of their time living in shallow icy water. In the spring and fall, the walruses migrate following their food.
  • Male walruses are known as bulls, and the females are called cows. The walruses have conspicuous ivory tusks. In the cows, these tusks grow to be two feet long, while in the bulls they are four feet long.
  • The longer the tusk, the more important rank a walrus holds in its group.
  • An interesting fact about the walrus is that it can sleep while it swims.
  • Native people use the walrus for many things. The meat of the walrus is frequently eaten by the villagers as well as fed to the dogs, its skin is used to make boats, and the intestines are used for raincoats, window-covers and floats.
  • The ivory tusks are used to make many different objects like carved paintings and necklaces. The bones of the walrus are used to make spear heads.

5. Arctic Tern

  • The arctic tern, a small bird, is a temporary resident of the North Pole.
  • It arrives in the arctic region for breeding during the summer but goes back to the Antarctic during the winter.
  • It is an enthusiastic traveller that journeys more than 20,000 miles each year between the Arctic and the Antarctic.
  • The Arctic tern is a 12 to 15 inch long bird with a white, rounded head and a black cap just above the eyes.
  • It feeds on small fish and insects.

6. Snowy Owl

  • Also known as Great White Owl or Arctic Owl, the Snowy Owl is one of the largest species of owls. They are known as snowy owls because when they are full grown, they are almost pure white in colour.
  • They have an incredible vision and can zero in on their targets from kilometres away. They love to feed on lemmings and can devour up to five lemmings a day.
  • Snowy owls have feet that are covered with feathers and protected with extra thick pads as they have to spend most of their time on the frozen Arctic ground.

For more such interesting General Knowledge articles and videos, visit: https://mocomi.com/learn/general-knowledge/