• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

Supreme Court of India

Selfie With Sam | 7-14 yrs | Reading Pod, Interactive

I’m in New Delhi, India, and behind me is the building of the Supreme Court, the highest judicial forum of the Republic of India!

When was the Supreme Court of India established?

The Supreme Court of India was established in January 1950, is the final court of appeal for the Republic of India, the highest constitutional court and the highest judicial forum. It primarily takes up appeals and cases against the verdicts of the various state high courts and other courts and tribunals. Its motto is “ Yato dharmas tatojayah”, a Sanskrit phrase which means “whence justice, thence victory”.

History of the Supreme Court of India

The main building of the Supreme Court of India is an impressive structure designed in an Indo – British style by architect Ganesh Bhikaji Deolalikar, who was the first Indian to head the Central Public Works Department. The building design symbolizes the scales of justice with two court halls on each side and the center-beam being the Central Wing of the building comprising the Chief Justice’s court, the largest of the courtrooms.  The building houses a total of 15 court rooms in its various wings. The Right Wing of the structure has the bar – room, the offices of the Attorney General of India and other law officers as well as the vast library of the court. The Left Wing has the offices of the court.

Another unique monument in this building is the bronze sculpture of Mother India with the young Republic of India. The symbolic statue was designed by the renowned artist Chintamoni Kar.

Justice in India

The supreme court of India has played a pivotal role in upholding justice in India, and for its purposes, engages the services of a Chief Justice and 30 judges. These judges are appointed after a careful and meticulous screening process that includes, among other factors, meeting certain eligibility criteria such as –

Qualifications for the judge of the Supreme Court

  1. They must be a citizen of India.
  2. They must be a judge of one high court or more (continuously), for at least five years.
  3. An advocate there, for at least ten years.
  4. A distinguished jurist in the opinion of the President.

Only a person who meets the above criteria earns the honor and responsibility of becoming a Supreme Court Judge and serve the country till their tenure ends at the age of 65.

The Supreme Court Museum

I’ve learned a lot about the Indian Judicial system in my visit here, especially from the Supreme Court Museum, a small, but very informative building in the Supreme Court premises. A must visit for anybody who is interested in learning about the history and development of the Indian Judicial system.