• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

What are Grains?

Geography | 8-11 yrs | Interactive, Learning Pod

Grains are small, dry, hard seeds that can be harvested to be used as food for animals and humans. They are easy to store and transport for a long time without getting bad, which is what makes them an ideal commodity for trade and nutrition all over the world.

Types of grain

Let’s look at the different types of grain that we may encounter-

Cereal grains –

Crops that are a member of the ‘grass’ family are known as cereal grains. They contain carbohydrates, which is a great source of energy for your body.

Eg. rice, barley, corn, oat, wheat

Pulses –

Grains that are members of the pea family are widely referred to as pulses. They contain high levels of protein, which the body then breaks down into compounds that help the body function. Meat is another rich source of protein. Since vegetarians don’t eat meat, they must rely on pulses to get their daily dose of protein.

E.g Mung, lentils, peanut, chickpea, soya bean

Oil seeds –

Oils and fats play an important role in our nutrition. Grains that are grown mainly for their fats are known as oil seeds. Oils that we use for cooking or those that can be consumed by humans without any harmful effects are known as edible oils.

E.g. sunflower, flax, mustard, hemp, poppy

Different grains have different shapes and sizes. Collect as many different types that you can. Then print a sheet from Mocomi’s colouring section and cover different areas with different grains. Remember to use glue.

For more interesting Geography articles and videos, visit: https://mocomi.com/learn/geography/