• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

The Oscars: An Interactive Timeline

General Knowledge | 7-13 yrs | Reading Pod
  • 1928 – The Oscar statuette is made. The golden statuette has a knight (13.5 inches and weighing 3.85 kgs) holding a sword stands on a black film reel with five spokes representing Actors, Producers, Directors, Technicians and Writers.
  • 1929 – The Oscars begin.
  • 1936 – Academy voters who wrote cinematographer Hal Mohr’s name on their ballots see him win for A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The first and only write-in ballot winner.
  • 1939 – George Bernard Shaw wins an Oscar. He had won a Nobel Prize in 1925, so he becomes the only person to win an Oscar and a Nobel.
  • 1940 – The Los Angeles Times publishes the names of Oscar winners in its evening edition, which guests at the Oscars can read before the function. This leads to results being sealed in envelopes.
  • 1953 – Walt Disney is the first person to win four Oscars in a year. He also has the most Oscars- 22!
  • 1960 – Ben-Hur is the first film to win 11 Oscars.
  • 1975 – Godfather-II is the first sequel to win Best Picture.
  • 1982 – Katherine Hepburn is the first and only person to win four Oscars for acting.
  • 2002 – The Best Animation award is instituted. Shrek wins.
  • 2012 – At age 22, Jennifer Lawrence becomes the second youngest person to receive a Best Actress Oscar. She gets the award for Silver Linings Playbook.
  • 2013 – Brad Pitt wins an Oscar as producer for 12 Years a Slave. He has been nominated thrice before for Oscars in acting.
  • 2014 – Leonardo di Caprio receives his third nomination in acting, but still doesn’t win an Oscar.

For more such interesting General Knowledge articles and videos, visit: https://mocomi.com/learn/general-knowledge/