• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

What is a Compass?

General Knowledge | 7-14 yrs | Interactive

A compass is a navigational instrument which shows us directions (North, South, East and West) with the help of a small magnetic needle which points north/south.

Compass points

Compass points are directions listed on a magnetic compass.

The four main points on a compass are North, South, East and West.

Halfway between each of these points is North-West, North-East, South-East and South-West.

And in between all these half way points is:

North-North-East  NNE

East-North-East   ENE

East-South-East   ESE

South-South-East  SSE

South-South-West  SSW

West-South-West   WSW

West-North-West   WNW

North-North-West  NNW

For more such interesting General Knowledge articles and videos, visit: General Knowledge for Kids.