• 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • Embed Code

Previous Article
Next Article

ICC T20 World Cup 2016

Sports | 7-14 yrs | Reading Pod

History of T20 Cricket

Twenty-Twenty cricket or T20 is a form of cricket introduced by the England and Wales cricket board in the year 2003. In this cricket format each team has to play a single inning only for 20 overs each. T-20 is one of the three recognised form of cricket today by the International Cricket Council or ICC.

A typical T-20 game lasts for about 90 minutes with an interval of 20 minutes. This is much shorter than a One-day series or a Test series, making it closer to the time frame of other sports which people enjoy. This game format has become immensely popular among cricket fans. It was introduced to create a quick, fast-paced game to attract spectators and television viewing.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners

The inaugural ICC world cup T20 was played in 2007 in South Africa where India had won the world cup after beating Pakistan in the finals.

  • 2009 winner: Pakistan
  • 2010 winner: England
  • 2012 winner: West indies
  • 2014 winner: Sri Lanka

The ICC world Twenty 2016 will be held in India from 8th March to 3rd April with both men and women’s international cricket teams.

T20 Cricket Leagues around the World

Not only World cup T20, but this cricket format is famous worldwide with countries having their separate domestic games. In India there is the Indian Premiere League, Australia has the Big Bash League, Pakistan has Pakistan Super League and there is also a Nepal Premier League amongst others.

T20 World Cup Records and Statistics

  • 260/6 was the highest total in World T20, scored by Sri Lanka against Kenya.
  • Yuvraj Singh has the fastest 50 in T20 in just 12 balls!
  • Brendan McCullum has the highest score in World T20, 123 runs in 58 balls!
  • Only 6 people have scored centuries in T20 World: Brendan McCullum, Suresh Raina, Mahela Jayawardene, Chris Gayle, Alex Hales and Ahmed Shehzad

Related Article: